If I could save time in a bottle….

My beautiful baby girl is a month old. One whole month. I am so acutely aware of time flying past us, and oh how I wish I could slow it down.

Each day speeds past in a blur of feeding and nappies and changing and vomit(hers, not mine!) and oh so many baby wipes; and I just want to scream at whoever is spinning our planet around to slow it down! Slow it down so that I can feel her little body snuggle into mine when she’s full and content – her little tiny hand reaching across my skin when she feeds, or getting tangled into my hair as she explores her surroundings. I want each bathtime to last an age, so that I can watch her face light up in delight as she flounders around in the warmth, and each playtime to last just a little longer just to see her discovering the world.

I wish I could but I can’t, and so I need to try my best to drink it all in while I can. Every post feed nap on my chest and every little coo and gurgle, every bathtime and even every tedious nappy change.

I’m reminded of some old song lyrics, and now they just make so much more sense….

If I could save time in a bottle,

The first thing that I’d like to do,

Is to save every day, til eternity passes away

Just to spend them with you

Leave a comment